Kate wrote:

My patch contains various quotes on equality from people such as Martin Luther King, Frances Wright and Agnes Macphail. I have also included two statistics, one about the persistent gender pay gap that exists in the UK, and another about the depressingly low representation of women in politics. Gender inequality exists all over the world in various different forms, I chose to highlight issues that affect people in the UK to remind us that there is still progress to be made in the quest for equality and feminism is still very relevant to life in 2010.

I found making this very simple visual statement both invigorated my interest in taking future political action and also made me sit quietly and spend some time thinking about issues that are especially important to me. I love the idea that it will be joined together with other ideas from around the world. A very therapeutic process!

 

If you have been inspired by Kate’s work (or any other patches or ideas on this blog) then do get in touch with Ellen Loudon to get involved with the project: ellen@ellenloudon.com

